State Lemon Laws for Motorcycles

One of the most common questions we receive at Kimmel & Silverman is, Are motorcycles covered under the lemon law?

The answer is “Yes” in some states, but not others. There are different lemon laws for different states and exceptions that vary from state to state. Not all 50 states in the U.S. cover motorcycles under the lemon law, but there is a federal law called the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act that will cover any product with a warranty valued at $25 or more. Below you’ll find a listing of each state and whether or not Motorcycles are covered under the lemon law. If you wish to file a claim, please contact us here.

State Covered Summary Coverage
Alabama No 3 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service 1 year – 12,000 miles
Alaska No 3 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Arizona Yes 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period or 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Arkansas No 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts, 30 calendar days out of service, or 5 repair attempts on separate occasions to repair any non conformities that together impair the use and value of the vehicle. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs last.
California No 2 repair attempts for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service 18 months – 18,000 miles which ever occurs first.
Colorado No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Connecticut Yes 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 2 repair attempts if serious safety hazard. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever period occurs first.
Delaware No 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. Express warranty period of 1 year, whichever occurs first.
District of Columbia No 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Florida No 3 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service 18 months or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Georgia No 1 repair attempt for a for a serious safety defect in the braking or steering system. 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs earlier.
Hawaii No 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 2 years or 24,000 miles.
Idaho No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service 2 years or 24,000 miles.
Illinois No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Indiana No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service 18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Iowa No 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts plus a final attempt or 30 calendar days out of service. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Kansas Yes 4 repair attempts or 10 repair attempts for different defects – 30 calendar days out of service. Any warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Kentucky No 4 repair attempts – 30 days out of service 1 year – 12,000 miles whichever occurs first
Louisiana No 4 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Maine Yes 3 repair attempts – 15 business days out of service 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Maryland Yes 1 unsuccessful repair of braking or steering system failure, 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 24 months or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Massachusetts Yes 3 repair attempts – 15 business days out of service 1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Michigan No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever is first.
Minnesota No 1 unsuccessful repair of a completely failed braking or steering system likely to cause death or substantial bodily injury, 4 attempts or 30 business days out of service for other defects. Express warranty period or 2 years, whichever occurs first.
Mississippi No 3 repair attempts – 15 working days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs earlier.
Missouri No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs earlier.
Montana No 4 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Nebraska Yes 4 repair attempts or 40 days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Nevada Yes 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
New Hampshire Yes 3 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service Within 1 year of expiration of express warranty period or final repair attempt.
New Jersey Yes 3 repair attempts, OR more than 20 calendar days out of service, OR one repair attempt for a serious defect which could cause death or bodily harm. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
New Mexico No 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
New York Yes 4 repair attempts, 30 calendar days out of service, or for a substantial defect within 20 days of receipt of notice given by the consumer using certified mail. 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
North Carolina Yes 4 repair attempts or more than 20 days out of service during any 12 month period. 2 years or 24,000 miles or express warranty whichever is greater.
North Dakota No 3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service during 1 year or express warranty term whichever is less. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Ohio Yes 3 repair attempts for same defect. 8 total repair attempts, 1 attempt to repair condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or out of service 30 or more calendar days 1 year or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Oklahoma No 4 repair attempts or 45 days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Oregon Yes 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Pennsylvania No 3 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service 1 year, 12,000 miles, or duration of warranty, whichever occurs first.
Rhode Island Yes 4 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service 1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
South Carolina No 3 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
South Dakota Yes 4 repair attempts plus a final repair attempt. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Tennessee Yes 4 repair attempts – 30 calendar days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Texas Yes 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 repair attempts for a serious safety hazard. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Utah No 4 repair attempts or 30 days or more business days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Vermont No 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period.
Virginia Yes 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service, or 1 serious safety defect, one repair attempt. 18 months.
Washington Yes 2 attempts for same serious safety defect; or 4 attempts for same defect (at least 1 of which is during the period of the manufacturer’s warranty); or 30 calendardays (at least 15 of which occur during the manufacturer’s warranty). 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
West Virginia Yes 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service or 1 unsuccessful repair of condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Wisconsin Yes 4 repair attempts – 30 days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Wyoming Yes 3 repair attempts – 30 business days out of service 1 year

Here are 2 articles we wrote about the subject on our main site, LemonLaw.com:

Lemon Law Protection for Pennsylvania Motorcycle and RV Owners

Are Motorcycles Covered Under the Lemon Law?